College of Fine Arts, School of Art, School of Dance, School of Music, School of Theatre, Film & Television

Beverly Seckinger, Molly Gebrian and Hank Stratton joined a list of more than 25 faculty members honored with awards for outreach, scholarship, and teaching this spring at the University of Arizona.

The awards, announced April 18, are presented annually by the Office of the Provost, the Honors College, the Graduate College, the Postdoctoral Affairs office, and the GIFT Center at the University of Arizona Foundation. 

The University plans to hold a recognition event in the spring of 2023. Details will be shared once finalized.

>> More than 25 faculty members honored for excellence in teaching, scholarship and outreach

This year’s honorees from the College of Fine Arts are listed below.

University Distinguished Outreach Faculty Award
Beverly Seckinger | Professor, School of Theatre, Film & Television

The University Distinguished Outreach Faculty awards recognize outstanding faculty whose scholarship-based outreach to the state, nation and the world has demonstrated sustained excellence in the University’s outreach mission. In addition to the title of University Distinguished Outreach Faculty, the award carries a $5,000 increase to base salary.

Early Career Scholars Award
Molly Gebrian | Assistant Professor, Fred Fox School of Music

This award recognizes early-career faculty members at the forefront of their disciplines for highly valued contributions to teaching, creative activity and service. The award includes a $5,000 prize.

>> CFA faculty awarded with RIII production seed grants

Gerald J. Swanson Prize for Teaching Excellence
Hank Stratton | Associate Professor, School of Theatre, Film & Television

This award recognizes excellence in undergraduate teaching. It was created through a gift from the Thomas R. Brown Foundation in honor of Gerald J. Swanson, professor emeritus of economics. The award includes a $5,000 prize.

Find previous honorees on the Faculty Awards & Honors website.

CFA arts faculty earn, Eddie Goodman
Edward Goodman. Courtesy of D’Addario.

The College of Fine Arts also announced other important recognitions that CFA faculty have received this spring. 

“I want to offer my thanks to the many people involved in putting forward nominations, assisting in preparing dossiers and supporting materials, and playing important roles in review processes,” said Dean Andy Schulz. “It’s great to see our colleagues recognized in these important ways.” 

Promotion to Professor

Tenure and Promotion to Associate Professor